High achievers are rewarded at celebration event

Northallerton School & Sixth Form College

Friday, 6th January 2017

High achievers are rewarded at celebration event

​STUDENTS urged to live life to the full by a dentist who ‘filled in’ at awards

STUDENTS were urged to live life to the full by a dental practitioner who ‘filled in’ as a guest speaker at a celebration event to honour academic success.

Dentist Simon Stretton-Downes was guest of honour at Northallerton School and Sixth Form College’s annual celebration of achievement which recognises pupils who have excelled through hard work, commitment to their studies and volunteering within the local community.

Mr Stretton-Downes has worked in general dental practice, as a civilian dentist with the Army and for nine years as a dentist in Ethiopia with a Christian mission.

Speaking to hundreds of pupils and parents at the event at Hambleton Forum, Northallerton, he said: “You only get one life, this is not a rehearsal or a trial run – this is it. The point is you need to make the most of it, find out what motivates you, work hard and always do your best.

“All young people are different, you need to work out what is right for you, follow your dreams and learn from others. It won’t always be easy and things won’t always go the way you want them to.

“But remember we are all in a race, the race of life. Don’t look back with regrets – you only have one life so live it to the full.”

The annual event was hosted by student council members Thea Crocker, 16, of Romanby and Rhys McClew, 17, of Northallerton, assisted by assistant principal Trevor Starkey.

The ceremony, for students past and present, recognised achievements in a wide range of areas from academia and music to drama and art, including awards for citizenship, design and technology, effort, determination and commitment and enthusiasm in sport.

Special posthumous awards in memory of former students were presented by the father of former sixth form health and social care student Libby Dawes, who was tragically killed in a car accident in 2007, and John Hyde, whose son Lance Corporal Ben Hyde was one of six royal military policemen killed in June 2003 in Southern Iraq.

The celebration event also welcomed back former pupil and twice British shot putt champion Scott Lincoln, who is currently training to represent team GB in the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Entertainment for the evening was provided by the Northallerton School and Sixth Form Choir, conducted by Andrea Rhodes and accompanied on the piano by Adrian Bramley, a performance from the Northallerton School and Sixth Form Drama Group with a taster of this year’s school production of The Caucasian Chalk Circle and singing and playing one of the own compositions ‘I’ve Been Here Before’ school rock band The Undecided.

Concluding the evening chair of governors of the Northallerton and Catterick Federation, Rob Barker, said: “This is always one of my favourite evenings of the year where I get to share in the success of our students.

“I’d like to than everyone for all of their efforts and I hope that they use it as a positive springboard for the future.”


English Faculty

Award for KS3: Sam James

Award for English Language in KS4: Caitlin Crossley

Award for English Language in KS5: Rachael Webb

Award for English Literature in KS4: Samuel Pratt

Award for English Literature in KS5: Shona Powell

Maths Faculty

Award for KS3: Liam Chapman

Award for KS4: Matthew Siddall

Award for KS5: Josh Form

Science Faculty

Award for KS3: Joseph Riordan

Award for Biology in KS4: Alex Vayro

Award for Biology in KS5: Katherine Sanders

Award for Chemistry in KS4: Thomas Holding

Award for Chemistry in KS5: James Martin

Award for Physics in KS4: Isaac Finn

Award for Physics in KS5: Jack Brent

Award for Psychology KS5: Lauren Hodgkinson

Award for Applies Science in KS5: Chloe Constantine

Humanities Faculty

Award for Geography in KS3: Travis McLean

Award for Geography in KS4: Sam Kirtley

Award for Geography in KS5: Owen Finn

Award for History in KS3: Jessica Spence

Award for History in KS4: Emma Strickland

Award for History in KS5: Ewan Cameron

Award for SRS in KS3: Beth Marshall

Award for SRS in KS4: Joseph Barron

Award for SRS in KS5: Ellen Palmer

Award for Business Studies in KS4: Elizabeth Huckla

Award for Business Studies in KS5: James Juden

Award fir Economics KS5: Abbie Grange

Award for EPQ in KS5: Emily Platt and Katie Platt

Technology Faculty

Award for Food in KS3: Niamh Wheldon

Award for Catering in KS4: Chloe Garner

Award for Engineering in KS4: Jack Allen

Award for Graphics in KS4: Amy Chilton

Award for Graphics in KS5: George McNaught

Award for ICT in KS3: Rhianna Dennis

Award for ICT in KS4: Abigail Grayson

Award for ICT in KS5: Callum Porter

Award for Resistant Materials in KS3: Ellie Adams

Award for Resistant Materials in KS4: Thomas Barley

Award for Resistant Materials in KS5: Edward Keen

Award for Textiles in KS3: Maisie Hicks

Award for Textiles in KS4: Victoria Weighell

Award for Textiles in KS5: Anna Ridings

Expressive Arts Faculty

Award for Art in KS3: Kate Bramley

Award for Art in KS4: Holly Cameron

Award for Art in KS5: Anna Ridings

Award for Drama in KS3: Grace Sharp

Award for Drama in KS4: Theadora Crocker

Award for Drama in KS5: Will Darwin

Award for Media in KS4: Danielle White

Award for Media in KS5: Matthew Sisk

Award for Music in KS4: Sophie McGlynn

Modern Foreign Language

Award for KS3: Ashleigh Spence

Award for KS4: Samantha Parker

Award for KS5: Elizabeth Mallett

Health and Social Care

H&SC Award: Rebecca Bond

H&SC Award for CACHE: Sian Bull


Award for KS3: Hannah Bell

Award for KS4: Jake Bennington

Award for KS5: George McNaught

Special Awards

Geography Award: Nick Yates

Libby Dawes Award for Outstanding Commitment to Health & Social Care: Amy Long

SSAFA Forces Help for Musical Excellence: Alexander Bell

Andrew Rawling Award for Outstanding Commitment to Design & Technology: George McNaught

David Bradley Award for Drama: Lauren Chambers

Northallerton and District Round Table Community Award: Katie Corner, Grace Sharp, Niamh Wheldon

Henry Blakeston Charity Award: Katie Hunter, Joseph Mableson

Hayes Travel Citizenship Award: Brandon Wright

David Dick Award for Art: Jacob Hobbs

David Dick Award for Sporting Achievement: Rebecca Boakes

Ben Hyde Award for Sporting Commitment and Enthusiasm in KS3: James Boucher, Ellie Vayro

Ben Hyde Award for Sporting Commitment and Enthusiasm in KS4: Christopher Barley, Halcyon Flint

Ben Hyde Award for Sporting Commitment and Enthusiasm in KS5: Owen Forster, Amelia Grayson

Award for Outstanding Achievement at GCSE level: Jake Bennington, Sam Kirtley, Samuel McNaught, Rebecca Tyrer

Rotary Club Award for Highest Achievement at GCSE level: Samuel Pratt

Award for Outstanding Achievement at AS level: Matthew Place, India Richmond, Mia Richmond

Rotary Club of Northallerton Mowbray for Highest Achievement at AS Level: Joshua Form

Rotary Club of Northallerton Mowbray Youth Award: Emily Peaurt

Award for Outstanding Achievement at A2 level: Kiah Berry, James Bramley, Kamil Bronka, David Brooksbank, Callum Porter, Katherine Sanders, Kyle Surtees

Teesside University Award for highest achievement at A2 level: Jack Brent

Graham Garlick Award for Determination: Jessica Spence

Alan Hinkes Award for Endeavour: Stewart Wilson

Chris Sheehan Award for Courage and Perseverance: William Farnaby

The John Dennis Award: Thea Crocker, Thomas Wood

The Cuthbert Cross: Abbie Grange, Jake Piper