Editor urges students at Northallerton School and Sixth Form College to live their dreams

Northallerton School & Sixth Form College

Friday, 4th January 2019

Editor urges students at Northallerton School and Sixth Form College to live their dreams

PIONEERING journalist makes headlines at her former school

A PIONEERING journalist made headlines at her former school as she urged students to believe in themselves and turn their dreams into reality.

Hannah Chapman, the first female editor of The Northern Echo, was guest of honour at Northallerton School and Sixth Form College celebration of achievements at Hambleton Forum.

The awards, held annually, recognise students who have excelled through hard work, commitment to their studies and volunteering within the local community.

Hannah, who left the school 17 years ago to study a career in journalism, said: “Some days it feels like a lifetime ago, other days it seems like only yesterday since I was here.

“Everyone remembers at least one teacher who influenced them at school, but for me it was two, my science teacher who had a great sense of humour and taught me some important life skills and my business studies teacher, who impressed upon me the importance of knowing the difference between dreams and reality.

“I never thought that I would be the first female editor of The Northern Echo, but with good humour and hard work it just shows that anything is possible and the more belief you have in yourselves the more chance you have of your dreams becoming a reality.”

The ceremony for students past and present was hosted by head boy Ed Hixson and head girl Laura West, assisted by head of English Nick Watkins.

It recognised achievements in a wide range of areas from academia and music to drama and art, including awards for citizenship, design and technology, effort, determination, and commitment and enthusiasm in sport.

The celebration event also welcomed back former pupil and the first Briton to climb the world’s highest mountains Alan Hinkes, who presented an endeavour award in his name to student Callum Tiffin.

Interim chair of governors Jan Linsley said: “Evenings like this are a real pleasure and an opportunity to celebrate students who make a real difference and a positive contribution to our school and local community.”

Entertainment for the evening was provided by the Northallerton School and Sixth Form College Pop Choir and a performance by drama students with a teaser from next year’s school production Alice.

Newly appointed principal Chris Drew said: “Tonight is all about our students achieving wonderful things. It is only right to acknowledge their endeavours and efforts.”


English Faculty

Award for KS3: Emily Hilton

Award for English Language in KS4: Joseph Blackman

Award for English Language in KS5: Lizzie Wright

Award for English Literature in KS4: Laura West

Award for English Literature in KS5: Phoebe Grayson

Award in Creative Writing for KS5: Sam Pratt

Maths Faculty

Award for KS3: Rebecca Wake

Award for KS4: Joe Riordan

Award for KS5: Matthew Waite

Science Faculty

Award for KS3: Ami Abhilash

Award for Biology in KS4: Harry Thompson

Award for Biology in KS5: Andrew Campbell

Award for Chemistry in KS4: Jasper Rowell

Award for Chemistry in KS5: Alex Vayro

Award for Physics in KS4: Will Farnaby

Award for Physics in KS5: Sam Kirtley

Award for Psychology KS5: Zoe Lappin

Award for Applies Science in KS5: Kate Atkin

Humanities Faculty

Award for Geography in KS3: Lottie Spence

Award for Geography in KS4: Samuel Leggott

Award for Geography in KS5: Georgia Form

Award for History in KS3: Alice Hobbs

Award for History in KS4: Jess Spence

Award for History in KS5: Patrick Jones

Award for SRS in KS3: Jodie Allen

Award for SRS in KS4: Zuzanna Gibas

Award for SRS in KS5: Jake Soulsby

Award for Business Studies in KS4: Charlie Trewitt

Award for Business Studies in KS5: Emily Crisp

Award for Economics KS5: Matthew Petty

Award for EPQ in KS5: Henry Grainge

Technology Faculty

Award for Food in KS3: Elliott Dodsworth

Award for Catering in KS4: Charles Whitehead

Award for Graphics in KS4: Travis McLean

Award for Graphics in KS5: Emily Goodyear

Award for ICT in KS3: Thomas Bell

Award for ICT in KS4: Rebecca Lowin

Award for ICT in KS5: Matthew Siddall

Award for Resistant Materials in KS3: Abi Davies

Award for Resistant Materials in KS4: Elliott Walker

Award for Resistant Materials in KS5: Stephen Banks

Award for Textiles in KS3: Amelia Hunter

Award for Textiles in KS5: Abbie Mackintosh

Expressive Arts Faculty

Award for Art in KS3: Mollie Petrie

Award for Art in KS4: Rhianna Dennis

Award for Art in KS5: Scott Holmes

Award for Drama in KS3: Matthew Hodgson

Award for Drama in KS4: Sam Illescas-Ruiz

Award for Drama in KS5: Sophie McGlynn

Award for Media in KS4: Shae Loach

Award for Media in KS5: Hevenly Rose

Award for Music in KS3: Lucy Godfrey

Award for Music in KS4: Aiden Geach

Modern Foreign Language

Award for KS3: Rachel Coughlan

Award for KS4: Joseph Mableson

Award for KS5: Dylan Murdoch

Health and Social Care

H&SC Award KS4: Chloe Garner

H&SC Award for KS5: Megan Hanson


Award for KS3: Amy Parker

Award for KS4: Jessica Alderson

Award for KS5: Joe Lawn

Special Awards

Geography Award: Niamh Wheldon

Libby Dawes Award for Outstanding Commitment to Health & Social Care: Emily Masterman

SSAFA Forces Help for Musical Excellence: Grace Sharp

David Bradley Award for Drama: Eleanor Webster

Northallerton and District Round Table Community Award: Abbie Wake

Henry Blakeston Charity Award: Katie Allinson, Joseph Barron, Charlotte Sherwood, Harriet Sherwood

Hayes Travel Citizenship Award: Oli Hampson

David Dick Award for Art: Lauren Hill

David Dick Award for Sporting Achievement: James Boucher

Ben Hyde Award for Competitive Sport in KS3: Tom Bramham, Poppy Stokes

Ben Hyde Award for Sporting Commitment and Enthusiasm in KS4: James Cleminson, Millie Smith

Ben Hyde Award for Sporting Commitment and Enthusiasm in KS5: Thea Crocker, Oscar Ingham

Award for Outstanding Achievement at GCSE level: William Farnaby, Phoebe Grayson, Beth Marshall, Travis McLean, Chloe Oliver, Jasper Rowell, Ashleigh Spencer, Harry Thompson, Charlie Trewhitt

Rotary Club Award for Highest Achievement at GCSE level: Joe Riordan

Rotary Club of Northallerton Mowbray Youth Award: Emma Kirby, Charlie Morton

Award for Outstanding Achievement at A2 level: Grace Cook, Jarrod Graham, Abigail Grayson, Sam Kirtley, Sophie McGlynn, Matthew Petty, Samuel Pratt, Alex Vayro, Matthew Waite

Teesside University Award for Highest Achievement at A2 Level: Lauren Hill

Graham Garlick Award for Determination: Dylan Crighton

Alan Hinkes Award for Endeavour: Callum Tiffin

Chris Sheehan Award for Courage and Perseverance: Elisha James

The John Dennis Award: Hannah Bell, Joe Riordan

The Cuthbert Cross: Joseph Barron, Thea Crocker