Academy stages annual awards ceremony

Wyvern Academy

Monday, 21st November 2016

Academy stages annual awards ceremony

NEW headteacher leads students into a brighter future.

A NEWLY appointed headteacher joined in the celebrations as she prepares to lead students into a brighter future.

Mo Wilkinson told students, staff, parents and friends her secondment as head of Darlington School of Mathematics and Science had become permanent as the academy staged its annual awards ceremony.

“Prizegivings are my favourite nights of the year as we celebrate our students’ success,” she said. “But we don’t get to this point without a great deal of hard work by staff and students.”

She said even then students had to be prepared to cope with failure as this was when they would do their best learning.

Mrs Wilkinson said, when she was at school, she had not achieved the grades she had hoped first time round but had kept trying. Other notable ‘failures’ included Microsoft boss Bill Gates, Harry Potter author JK Rowling and Mo Farrar, who had actually fallen during a race but gone on to win gold.

“The important thing is never to be afraid to have another go,” she said. “Believe in your dreams and aspire to be the best you can.”

Chairman of governors and deputy lord lieutenant Mark White presented prizes to past and current students for a variety of achievements including subject prizes, the UKMT Maths Challenge, outstanding exam results, dedication and commitment, progress, perseverance, effort, resilience and excellence.

Recently awarded an OBE, Mr White said: “I have worked in education for the past 40 years and have seen how it changes lives; it creates aspirations and pride in communities.

“Over the years I learnt to be more confident, to speak up and ask questions,” he said. “Successful leadership needs to be honest, to challenge, to motivate and not compromise on standards, so we are delighted to have Mrs Wilkinson as our new headteacher.”

Entertainment was provided by viola player Lucas Buckley, who played Solo Cello Suite No 1 in G Major and the DSMS Band, which performed Empire State of Mind.


Governors Cup for Outstanding Achievement, Heather McKim

The Austin Brooks Rotary Club Youth Award, Ryan Reed

Richard Luck Trophy for Dedication and Commitment KS3, Adam Plumb

Richard Luck Trophy for Dedication and Commitment KS4, Andrew Nicholl

Bernie Coyne Cup for Team of the Year, Lydia Shale, Lauren Naisbitt, Abigail Fry, Emily Singlewood, Aaliyah White and Jessica Walledge

Mayor’s Cup for Progress, Jakub Joszki

Progress Award for Achievement, Andrew Nicholl

Middleton Greathead Cup for Progress, boy, Morgan Taylor

Middleton Greathead Cup for Progress, girl, Sharifah Aktar

The Hampson Cup for Achievement in maths, Emily Coates

The Flint Cup, Kaylum Bolton

The Knowles Cup, Abi Gould

James Barningham Award, Year 11 boy, Andrew Nicholl

James Barningham Award, Year 11 girl, Karimah Miah

James Barningham Award, Year 9 boy, Sam Raine

James Barningham Award, Year 9 girl, Na’ila Miah

The DSMS Trophy, Courtney Greaves

Dickinson Cup, Olivia Smith

Anne Poynton Trophy, Brandon Soanes

Clara Lucas Citizenship Award, boy, Reece Harper

Clara Lucas Citizenship Award, girl, Olivia Smith and Abi Gould

Reginald Gray Award, Matthew Currey

FC Coleman Award, Peter Gartland

Dr J Lloyd Trophy, Molly Leeson

Lady Dale Scholarship, Heather McKim

The Royal Navy Prize for Determination and Resilience, Chloe Lay

The Gerald Lee Cup, Kane Tervit

The Fl Lt Steven Johnson Shield, Samantha Gould

Branksome & Cockerton West Community Partnership Award, Lucas Buckley

Cockerton East Community Partnership Trophy, Joe Clark

Cockerton Methodist Church Trophy, Shannon Morgan